TO: Douglas County School District Board of Education

FROM: Douglas County School District Fiscal Oversight Committee (FOC)

RE: FOC Membership Recommendations

The FOC recommends the following community members for FOC membership to fill vacancies with the option to renew for a 3-year term at the end of the term of the vacancies. The FOC Interview Sub-Committee interviewed four candidates, and we are recommending to the Board of Education that the following three candidates be approved for membership. The candidates submitted the summaries below to provide evidence of their qualifications and reasons for volunteering.

1. Shawn Daughenbaugh, Castle Rock

"As a parent of a young child entering the district, it is important that I am involved in the direction the district is heading. One of the best ways to monitor this direction is by ensuring the financial stability of the district so that it is providing for employees, parents and students alike. I currently work as a director at one of the nation's largest health insurance where I lead the development of new programs in excess of \$5 million annually. I hold several post- graduate degrees, including a Master of Finance with a specialization in financial modeling and forecasting, that give me the preliminary knowledge in order to participate meaningfully in conversations."

2. Alex Frum, Highlands Ranch

"I am interested in volunteering to serve on the Financial Oversight Committee. I recently moved my family from Illinois to Colorado and now have 4 children enrolled in Douglas County Schools. I currently own and operate a small trucking company and prior to that, I worked in finance for 15 years as a bond trader and bond salesman for a number of major banks. Additionally, while in Illinois, I was a school board member for 8 years."

3. Dave Usechek, Parker

"As a retired educator familiar with school budgets and previously served on FOC has me as a strong candidate."

These new members would begin new terms commencing January 1, 2024.

Sincerely,

James Coope, FOC Chair, on behalf of the FOC